To blog or not to blog?

I am really enjoying blogging. It’s an opportunity to say whatever you like to complete strangers. It’s a kind of therapy really, clearing out all the thoughts that swirl around my brain and putting a full stop ( literally) at the end of it. But it has also created a list of problems I hadn’t even considered at the start. Here comes another list…

1) what to blog about? I now find myself laying awake at night, considering what I can speak about. This is not a writers block problem at all, it is quite the opposite. I had at least five topics today, ranging from my friends wife who has recently released a book to the school trip today.

2) is it a family thing? Yesterday I spoke about my grandparents, today I considered writing about my young son. Do I really want to put my real personal life out there? And that brings me onto point 3…

3) is anybody interested in what I have to say? The simple answer is yes, it appears so. I am averaging a good number of hits a day. The problem is this: will I continue to do so? Is what I am saying of any interest to you? I hope so. Plus, I find myself constantly looking at my stats on my WordPress app.

4) how often should I mention the books? The reason for starting to blog was at my publishers behest. He thought I would enjoy it. He was right of course, I’m loving it. But it does come back to the fact that I would like people to go to the titles tab and look at what I have had published (little shameless plug there).

All this said, the problems of blogging are far outweighed by the joy I get from it. I think that, even if the book bombs, it is something I will continue to do.
Please keep reading, I will be right here.

Andrew Thomas
Blogger

Ps. Am gonna ask my friends wife if I can blog about her this week. Tomorrow will be about the great tradition of the school trip. Maybe.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “To blog or not to blog?

  1. Hello Andrew,

    I found myself asking some of the same questions you pose here:

    1) What to blog about? I either made an endless list that was as incessant as my chatter or stared at the blinking curser on a blank page. Then the answer: Whatever I want! That’s part of the joy we face as bloggers, right? Gotta love it!

    2) Is it a family thing? Not for me, though sometimes I worry that my subject might not appreciate my choice.

    3) Is anybody interested in what I have to say? Yay! If they aren’t, they can kindly move on! Ahh, but the validation that comes with multiple hits. šŸ™‚

    4) How often should I mention the books? šŸ™‚ Constantly, of course! šŸ™‚

    Nice to read ya!

  2. HC says:

    “Good writing is supposed to evoke sensation in the reader – not the fact that it is raining, but the feeling of being rained upon” E.L.Doctorow.
    To answer your question – To Blog (please)

Leave a Reply

