Sequels, Remakes and Trilogies. Part II

The film of the series (not the snappiest of titles).

You have to do an amazing job to be in with a chance of appealing to the original fans of the show, either that or go down the star trek route of actually having the actors from the series play the film roles. It worked well with both the original star trek and the next generation. As a real Trekkie (can’t believe that just got spell checked to a capital letter), I loved the films. Having William Shatner and Patrick Stewart on the same screen at the same time? Yes, yes oh yes. The same thing happened with firefly and the film version serenity (well worth a look) and the sex and the city films (not my cup of tea but the Mrs. loves em). They are recognisable characters playing recognisable parts and they work. Well, with the exception of the Simpsons movie. That was a real doh.


The problem comes when you transfer a TV show (especially a cult classic one) to film with a new cast. Basically, you can’t replace Mr T, Hannibal, Face or Murdock. Not if you want to tap into the original market anyway. I’m not saying the A-team film was awful; it wasn’t very good either though. I think the main reason was the original actors were those characters. Mr T is BA Baracus. I find the same with the avengers and the saint, and don’t even get me started on the new star trek film!

There is evidence that it can work though. Look at the Batman franchise. I loved the Adam West show, I loved the Tim Burton films (not any of the others though, why Arnie? Why?), I love the new incarnation. I think they are all sufficiently different, and no one actor really owns the role. There is no Mr T in batman (neither literally nor metaphorically).

I will finish with my 2 favourite TV show to films. It also strike me that it may well be because they started as sketch shows.

The Muppet show: I loved the Muppets as a kid and love the first Muppet movie. They took a sketch show of believable characters (albeit puppets) and showed us what they were like when they weren’t on the show. The plot is thin, the acting is hammy (terrible pun, sorry miss piggy) and you can see wires coming out of their arms. This to me though adds to the charm.

Monty pythons flying circus: An amazing TV show with a string of amazing films. The show and films are my dad’s era really, but I think they are timeless. My favourite of the lot has to be the life of Brian, if only because of the outrage of the religious community.

That’s it for episode 2: the return of the over opinionated bloggist.

Episode 3 promises the remake and the remake of the remake. I’m going down the Godfather route though (not making it rubbish, hopefully) and leaving a gap between parts 1 and 2 and part 3. Until next week.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Sequels, Remakes and Trilogies. Part II

  1. Police Academy – quality quality quality.

  2. msfttaz says:

    I’m with you on the Hulk remakes. Terrible, all of them. However, I grew up on Star Trek and I’ve got to say I LOVE the JJ Abrams re-envisioning. (I was a huge doubter until I saw it.) His unique approach to explaining why he doesn’t have to repeat the past with this reboot breathes new life into a dying franchise without ignoring its past. I loved that Leonard Nimoy spent screen time with the new Spock, and it made sense. Quinto certainly looks like a younger version of the original and plays the part in the same understated manner that made Spock so awesome in the first place. Sure, many of the other actors are drastically different from their predecessors, but still honor the tone of the original characters. In some cases, they may be an improvement. I liked Shatner, but the new Kirk is less cheesy and more believable. Zoe Saldana is more fierce as Uhura and a better example of a modern, and hopefully futuristic, woman. Simon Pegg is a brilliant choice to embody the new Scotty. And let’s face it, the effects are incredible, and this story deserves the realism today’s CGI brings to the table. It’s almost easy to believe The Enterprise is real given the quality of work that went into that film.

    Now, if anyone even remotely suggests trying to remake Star Wars, they must be arrested immediately! That cast was perfect and completely irreplaceable.

    • I suppose I am still mourning the loss of the next generation films. Seeing Data die brings a tear to my eye every time. I do feel that the new film could have had a better concept. I agree with your character and Spock comments but I find it is lacking. Whether its the speed and scale in which things happen or just the awful and jumpy introduction of the romulans or the nods to the fans that are so obvious that it doesn’t make me feel as intended. Either way, I watched at the cinema, on DVD and will probably never revisit it. Unlike all the others (unsure if you can wear out a DVD but will let you know). Cheers for the comment. A

Leave a Reply

