Footballing reasons

20120616-084552.jpg

Not only has my wife become a football widow but I have also neglected my blogging duties. Welcome to Euro 2012.

There is something compulsive about it. Something that makes you watch competitive games between countries you can’t even find on a map. Games that scream of tedium and are special only in how amazingly average they seem to be. Countries I wouldn’t go and see play live if they were holding a game at the end of the road.

Competitive football tournements though makes these countries interesting. Not only do I neglect my family when games are on, I also become obsessed with stats, analysis, team selection and highlights. It’s all encompassing.

It becomes even more so when England are playing. It’s the knot in your stomach when the opposition is on the edge of your 18 yard box, the hope when a player, someone you have just berated, runs at the other teams goal. The elation of the goal, the crushing defeat of the equaliser, the shouts and swearing at the TV as if the players can hear you.

So a short blog this week. Can’t help it, football is on.

20120616-084619.jpg

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Footballing reasons

  1. Papy says:

    Why is it I swear more, shout more and scream more when I am watching England then my beloved Arsenal? Why do I think I can pick a better team, organise better tactics then a manager with years of experience. Or am I just a bog standard England fan passionate to see them win!

  2. John S says:

    We re going to win it! Two banks of four. Proper English football. Andy Carroll’s goal last night was a thing of beauty. Spain in the quarters… no problem!

  3. I love it! All of it! The best bit is that Motson is not around to annoy the arse of me! Good tournament so far.

Leave a Reply

